A guide to Traffic Citations
The Traffic Department maintains all records pertaining to Traffic Citations issued to persons in Levy County. We also collect all fines and set court dates for those who wish to contest their civil infraction violation.
If you are charged with a criminal violation (D.U.I., driving with a suspended license, driving without a valid drivers license etc.), you must appear in court on the date given on your citation. If you have any questions involving criminal violations call (352) 486-5266 ext.248.
If you are charged with a payable Civil Traffic Infraction ( careless driving, speeding, etc.) you must elect one of the following three options within 30 days:
1. Pay the traffic fine ( by mail, in person, or online with a credit card )
2. Elect traffic school, by signing the school affidavit and paying the fine, plus a $7.00 affidavit fee CDL licence not eligible (keeps the points from being assessed to your license)
3. Elect a Court Hearing – ( Send request in writing to the Clerk of Court, 355 South Court Street, Bronson, Fl 32621)
If you provide proof of a valid driver license, registration, or proof of insurance issued prior to the citation date, the Clerk’s Office may dismiss the citation with a $10.00 fee, for the following Florida Statutes:
- 320.0605 Registration/Tag Violation
- 320.07 Registration/Tag Violation
- 322.065 Driver License Violation
- 322.15 Driver License Violation
- 316.646 Proof of Insurance Violation
For the above listed Statue Numbers, if you provide proof that you obtained a valid Registration/Tag or Driver License after the citation was written, you may provide proof and it will reduce the fine to $98.25. For insurance, it will reduce the fine to $77.90 .
For violations of 316.610 and 316.2935, within 30 days, you may provide proof of the equipment repair to a Law Enforcement Agency and have them sign the affidavit on the citation. This will reduce the fine from $113.00 to $93.00.
If you have any questions about Traffic Citations you may call 352-486-5266 ext 247.
Some frequently asked questions
How much will my Traffic Citation cost and how do I make payment?
It depends on what violation you were charged with and whether you pay it within the allotted 30 days after the date of the citation. If you pay after 30 days late fees will be assessed. See the table above for specific traffic fines if paid within 30 days.
Payments can be made by mail by sending a cashier check or money order to Levy County Clerk of Courts, 355 S. Court Street, Bronson, Florida 32621, Attn: Traffic Department. Payments can also be made in person at the Levy County Courthouse.
How do I make arrangements to go to driving school to avoid points being assessed?
First, contact the Clerk’s Office at (352) 486-5266 ext.247. You will have to sign an affidavit electing to attend a driving school, and pay the Clerk’s Office the associated costs for this option within 30 days of the date of your citation.
Next, contact a driving school of your choice that is approved by the State of Florida and complete the course within 90 days. The schools will advise you of their associated costs for taking the approved driving program.
Finally, provide the Clerk’s Office with a copy of the Certificate of Completion that will be issued to you by the school. This option may only be used once in a 12 month period, and no more than 5 times in a Lifetime.
How do I set a court date?
If you are charged with a civil infraction you must appear in person at the Levy County Courthouse at 355 S. Court Street, Bronson, Florida 32621, or mail a request in writing within 30 days of the citation date to schedule your court appearance. Please bring or mail a copy of your citation.
If you are charged with a criminal violation must appear in court on the date given on your citation. If you have any questions call (352) 486-5266 ext.247.
Can I change my court date?
The person charged must request a continuance in person or in writing.
Criminal traffic violation cannot be rescheduled by the Clerk’s Office.
May I file an extension to pay my traffic infraction?
You may obtain an additional 14 days to pay by mailing or coming in person to the Levy County Courthouse at 355 S. Court Street, Bronson, Florida 32621. Please bring or enclose a copy of your citation.
May I file an extension to pay my criminal traffic citation?
You may obtain an extension by requesting it in writing at the address listed above. If you are on probation you must contact your probation officer.
How do I obtain a copy of my driving record and points?
You may purchase a copy at the Clerk’s Office, 355 S. Court Street, Bronson, Florida 32621. The costs for a 3 year record is $8.00, Lifetime is $10.00. You must appear in person, have your drivers license number and proper identification.