Danny J. Shipp, Clerk & Comptroller
355 South Court Street
Bronson, FL 32621
Phone: 352-486-5266
Fax: 352-486-5166

Deanna Dobbins, Chief Deputy Clerk
355 South Court Street
Bronson, FL 32621
Phone: 352-486-5266
Fax: 352-486-5166

Jared Blanton, CPA, MBA. Finance Officer
355 South Court Street
Bronson, FL 32621
Phone: 352-486-5266
Fax: 352-486-5166

Traffic

A guide to Traffic Citations

The Traffic Department maintains all records pertaining to Traffic Citations issued to persons in Levy County. We also collect all fines and set court dates for those who wish to contest their civil infraction violation.

If you are charged with a criminal violation (D.U.I., driving with a suspended license, driving without a valid drivers license etc.), you must appear in court on the date given on your citation. If you have any questions involving criminal violations call (352) 486-5266 ext.1260.

If you are charged with an infraction which does not require
appearance in court you must elect one of the following options within 30
days:

  1. Pay the traffic fine and points will be assessed (pay by mail, in
    person, online or by phone)
  2. Elect traffic school and points will not be assessed (contact the
    Clerk’s office for associated costs and eligibility)

    1. Submit Traffic School Affidavit
    2. If electing traffic school you must sign a Traffic School Affidavit.
  3. Request for no points and no court appearance OR Request for court hearing
    1. Choose one of the forms and once completed send to the Clerk’s Office by mail or email.

If you provide proof of a valid driver license, registration, or proof of insurance issued prior to the citation date, the Clerk’s Office may dismiss the citation with a $10.00 fee, for the following Florida Statutes:

  • 320.0605 Registration/Tag Violation
  • 320.07 Registration/Tag Violation
  • 322.065 Driver License Violation
  • 322.15 Driver License Violation
  • 316.646 Proof of Insurance Violation

For the above listed Statue Numbers, if you provide proof that you obtained a valid Registration/Tag or Driver License after the citation was written, you may provide proof and it will reduce the fine to $98.25. For insurance, it will reduce the fine to $77.90 .

For violations of 316.610 and 316.2935, within 30 days, you may provide proof of the equipment repair to a Law Enforcement Agency and have them sign the affidavit on the citation. This will reduce the fine from $113.00 to $93.00.

If you have any questions about Traffic Citations you may call 352-486-5266 ext 1247.

Some frequently asked questions

How do I make arrangements to go to driving school to avoid points being assessed?
First, contact the Clerk’s Office at (352) 486-5266 ext. 1247. You will have to sign an affidavit electing to attend a driving school, and pay the Clerk’s Office the associated costs for this option within 30 days of the date of your citation.

Next, contact a driving school of your choice that is approved by the State of Florida and complete the course within 90 days. The schools will advise you of their associated costs for taking the approved driving program.

Finally, provide the Clerk’s Office with a copy of the Certificate of Completion that will be issued to you by the school. This option may only be used once in a 12 month period, and no more than 5 times in a Lifetime.

Check to see if you are eligible to attend Driver School in Lieu of points

Click here for a list of Traffic Schools from DHSMV website

Can I change my court date?
The person charged can file a motion with the Clerk’s Office to be  considered by the court. The motion can be found under online forms.

May I file an extension to pay my traffic infraction?
You may obtain an additional 14 days to pay by requesting via phone, email, mail or in person.

May I file an extension to pay my criminal traffic citation?
You may file a motion with the Clerk’s Office to be considered by the court or if you are on probation, you must contact your probation officer.

How do I obtain a copy of my driving record and points?
You may purchase a copy at the Clerk’s Office, 355 S. Court Street, Bronson, Florida 32621. The costs for a 3 year record is $14.25, Lifetime is $16.25. You must appear in person, have your drivers license number and proper identification.

Levy County Traffic Department
Phone:
(352) 486-5266 – ext 1247
Email:
 LevyTraffic@LevyClerk.com

Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.